12 Comments
Aug 12, 2022Liked by Sarah Donoghue

If it really was a desert island it would be Aloe Vera ( sure to survive) to protect my skin and can also eat/drink the flesh if any tummy problems. Coconut is the obvious tree perfect to avoid dehydration so good for the skin and cooking and numerous other things !

Expand full comment

Mine would probably be dandelion (though nettles would be a close second and probably oregon grape/barberry 3rd). I will always remember the great-niece of an old "granny lady", an herbalist in the Appalachian mountains. We were lying in a field of clover, drying in the sun after a swim in a creek. She picked a dandelion and told me, "You are a lot like a dandelion. You are tough and adaptable... attractive, sometimes annoying... and there is a lot more to you than most people would think." As they say, flattery will get you everywhere! Aanyway, you can make wine, bitters , tea or tincture and enjoy eating the greens.. even pickle the buds. I love herbs I can eat!

Expand full comment
Aug 12, 2022Liked by Sarah Donoghue

It would have to be my namesake, Nettle, so many uses for life, and a tree, well . . .Hazel, for the wonderful bounty she gives us and fast sunshoots to work with.

may you walk in beauty, Murray xx

Expand full comment
author

I'll begin the conversation by saying that my plant would without a shadow of a doubt have to be NETTLE.

Every part (root, leaf, seed) has some use. The leaves can be cooked and used like spinach (in fact during the first and second world wars nettles were considered to be a valuable food item, without which, many people would have starved.) Fresh nettle seeds can be crushed and the oil used in lamps. The roots and leaves make great fertiliser (I simply wouldn't be able to stop myself from gardening and cultivating other species on the island the moment I was able!) It can also be used to make shampoo, dyes and even beer! .... I think I may actually need to write a full post about this!

In regards to a tree....at first I went with pine as it has anti viral properties, and who wants to be stuck on a desert island without a Christmas tree! However, on second thoughts, I would have to say that Elder would be my tree of choice. I couldn't live without making my annual batch of elderberry syrup, and the flowers make such a useful cordial. It's the gift that keeps on giving!

Any thoughts? Let me know if these would be YOUR choices!

Expand full comment